Impressions from 2016

A disclaimer: My gardening interests changed drastically since I started this blog a couple of years ago. I started out with an interest in heirloom vegetable varieties, then I liked little cultivated wild vegetables and fruit. I became interested in Australian food plants, which turned into an interest in all plants from the Southern Hemisphere (but not exclusively) that are growable in my climate. So, to mark this change I’m gonna start to write the blog in English, and I’m hopefully going to post more often.

Last year I was a bit lazy and didn’t take many or even regularly pictures. Some pictures got lost with a broken camera. Well, here’s what I got:

Abeliophyllum distichum probably ‚Roseum‘, because it clearly doesn’t flower white like the wild form. But I bought it without a cultivar name. It didn’t do well for me, maybe it just needs some time. It’s related to Forsythia but flowers earlier in the year.
abeliophyllum

Bulbine bulbosa. Grown (easily) from seed. This Australian plant is a bit of a mystery to me. I planted it in three spots in my garden. In the spot shown in the picture, which I thought was the best drained with the best soil, it rotted away in summer. In the other spots the plants never got this big, but are still living and were even self-seeding. Maybe it will come back after winter, but I don’t have high hopes it will. The plant to the left of it is Rhaphithamnus spinosus. I don’t think it’s very hardy; last winter all parts of the plants above the ground froze off.
bulbine-bulbosa

Crataegus orientalis. The fruit of this species is really good, they taste like apples. But sadly there’s almost no flesh around the seeds.
crataegus-orientalis

I love especially the look of the flowers after the petals have fallen off. Don’t they look a bit like Eucalyptus?
crataegus-orientalis2

Nemophila menziesii grows as an annual. Perhaps it is going to reseed.
nemophila

Olearia macrodonta is a plant from New Zealand. No idea if it’s hardy enough, but it’s just a beautiful plant. The leaves are amazing!
olearia-macrodonta1

The flowers are pretty, too.
olearia-macrodonta3

And finally, Parahebe catarractae ‚Avalanche‘. It survived winter pretty good with almost no leaf loss.
parahebe-avalanche

Kommentar verfassen

